Some countries spend a lot of money on making it easier to use bicycles in cities, why ? is this the best way to solve traffic problems?

Nowadays many counties spend an ample amount of money on infrastructure to utilize bicycles conveniently in urban areas. Although some believe that it helps to decrease traffic congestion. In this context, I will elaborate on my opinion regarding the above statement. First of foremost, if the local authorities take action on the development of the facilities it is conducive to the public. Permitting citizens to cycle as it helps them to be physically active, which will benefit their health aspects as well. For instance, as Sri Lanka went through a fuel crisis in recent months certain sections of people commute to work, and school by cycling. Moreover,in a country such as the Netherlands, the majority of people utilize cycling as their mode of transportation. The Dutch government do spend a lot of money on the development of infrastructure for the locals to cycle. To a certain,extent it may help decrease the traffic congestion in the country. Secondly, in order to discuss the drawbacks of the utilization of bicycles would be that if the local authorities are encouraging the citizens to cycle, the bicycle body parts should be widely available for investment. For example, due to the bankruptcy of Sri Lanka, the government has restricted 300 items to be imported into the country. With this rationale people are reluctant to invest in bicycles, therefore this will not allow solving the traffic problems. In conclusion, in my point of view with the above stated, alternatively if the government is adamant to solve the traffic problems, suggest providing better facilities for public transport which will immensely improve.