Some say that new homes should be constructed in existing cities while others argue that new towns should be built (advantages/disadvantages)

During the period of economic growth, more and more people will own homes, and the demand for housing rises while supply is limited. As a result of this phenomenon, it begs the question of where new housing should be built. In the already well-developed cities or in the new areas that have not been established yet. I believe there are advantages and disadvantages to both options, I will elaborate more on this debate in the following paragraphs. For the first notion, people who support the idea that construction of new housing should be in existing cities area, believe that because the cities were already established so there will be less need to spend the budget on other necessities like public utilities, public transportation, school, police station or other places that are important for society. However, obvious disadvantages will be more congestion problems and the limited spaces in metropolitan areas can mean that it will be difficult to find land to build more housing. Hence, the price of housing in city areas can be high and not affordable for most people. On the contrary, the supporters of the second idea believe that building houses in the new town will make it more affordable, especially for younger generations who might not have stable incomes yet. It can also help to lessen the congestion problem in big cities and Furthermore, It can help distribute resources to new areas, help small businesses around there to thrive with new sources of demand. Still, there are a lot of challenges to achieving this goal, first will be the cost of decent utilities and public transportation. In addition, central authorities will have to incentivize businesses and companies to relocate and move to newly built towns. Because people will not buy a home and build a family in a place with no opportunities. To conclude, both options have benefits as well as challenges. It depends on the plan of management from governments and central authorities. I believe that both of these approaches if executed well can bring positive impacts on people and society.