More and more people prefer to read e-books rather than paper books. What are reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

As technology progresses, so many people opt out of the traditional way of reading paper books and go for something more convenient like electronic books instead. Despite having its disadvantages. It provides more benefits for lots of people, students and scholars in particular. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this topic. While reading paper books can sometimes give readers feel like they reading actual books and can provide more sense of possessions for those who own them. Reading e- books can be preferable by a lot of folks since it is more suitable for the modern lifestyle of today. Readers can have access to any book at any time. Especially for college students, whereas in the past student had to carry heavy textbooks with them or go to the library to access these resources. For now, students can access these pieces of knowledge at any time with just the tip of their fingers and e- books became the more favourable method of reading books by most students, As can be seen from the trend of electronics tablets are quickly becoming the default electronic devices that college students need to buy. Because of the aforementioned, there is less and less appeal for people to go to the library to get access to these resources. Especially when there are a lot of uncontrollable factors when using public libraries like the crowd, noise, and limited space which can be bothersome for some people. Moreover, books in public libraries can be misplaced and take time and effort to find. Also, there is a chance that people can be denied access to those books due to high demand and the limited amount of them for each library. The introduction of ebooks adds more reason for people not to go to the library. In conclusion, with the new technology which provides us with alternatives for the traditional libraries at the expense of losing an old way of living, the governments must make necessary changes to the existing methods to align with the newer technology.