Many people these days choose to work abroad after graduation. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages.

It is undeniable that globalization brought people around the world closer than ever before in almost every aspect of our lives, Career opportunity is one of them. Nowadays, plenty of companies started to hire employees from multiple nationalities and races rather than hire just local candidates which opened the door for a lot of new graduates who wish to work abroad. While this opportunity can provide a lot of great experiences, it certainly has its drawbacks as well. In terms of benefits, the most obvious one will be the compensation. Especially in countries with comparatively higher living wages. In other words, working abroad in more developed countries will enable people to earn a higher income even though the job requires the same expertise. Second, working in new environments, and living in new places will help us learn new things about that certain place whether about languages, cultures, or history. And help bring new perspectives. Thirdly, working in companies overseas despite not being citizens will require people to be more competitive in order to be more stand out from local employees. Moreover, working in new surroundings which are not our comfort zones can help us to be more resilient, adaptable, and ready for changes. Nevertheless, everything has both benefits and downsides. Despite the fact that working abroad is a very attractive option, it also has some disadvantages. First will be that it will take enormous effort to adjust to a new environment. Especially for those who might not fluent in local languages, it might be difficult to communicate and connect to people in a new place and hence, unable to blend in with the society. Second, racism and discrimination are still very concerning issues in today’s society, and living in such places where these undesirable traits are still entrenched in society can be difficult and can potentially lead to more atrocious results like getting abused or harassed in workplaces or even getting physically harmed. Lastly, there are a lot of chances that despite working there and generating value for the economy, ex-pats can still be considered second -class citizens and as a result, get fewer benefits and less welfare from governments. In conclusion, working abroad can have both positive and negative results on people. However, in my opinion, it is still a very great opportunity for everyone especially new graduates who just got out of college and wish to gain as much experience as possible.