Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

It is widely believed that the waste recycling method is the best solution to the garbage issue. However, people have different views about this process and they think it is essential to enforce the laws on the recycling process rather than just doing it at the home. I completely agree with this statement and will explain why disciplines are needed for waste management. Firstly, people fear being punished. If they are aware of the consequences of illegal activities, they would refrain from them. For instance, Sri Lankan police officers have the power to arrest people without any early notice, if they throw their trash on the roads. As a result, Sri Lankan won the nature-friendly award in south Asia in 2020. Therefore, rules and regulations need to be implemented for improving the recycling process. Secondly, major companies have to follow environmental policies which help to improve recycling. Despite, the limited amount of trashes coming out of houses, a large quantity of waste such as plastics, polythene, rubber, glass and paper are released from factories. If they have to obligate to the laws which are related to recycling, it will help to increase the amount of recycling. In fact, in 2015, beverage companies discard plastic cans and bottle more than 50 tons per day in America. However, after imposing recycling rules for these companies, that amount could be reduced by half of the figures in 2020. Consequently, legitimacy has a profound effect on recycling. In conclusion, legitimisation of the recycling process has a propeller impact to increase the rate since fear of penalty and mass companies adhere to this process.