In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

An increase in the average weight of people became a very concerning issue in recent years since it can lead to several health conditions. There are a lot of factors that contribute to this problem, bad diets and lack of exercise are among them. The question is, what are the reasons for people in modern-day society to adopt such an unhealthy lifestyle, and solutions should be used to tackle this problem, I will elaborate more on this topic in the following paragraphs. To solve the problems we must know the causes. Hence, let’s start with terrible diets. The actual reason that causes people to consume foods with high cholesterol is mainly that it is cheaper and more affordable than healthy ingredients which are more expensive and have limited supply. As a result, most households opt for a more affordable option. For example, it is very difficult in Thailand to find clean and healthy food at reasonable prices. Most of the restaurants that offer this type of food are considered expensive and high-end. Secondly, nowadays people spend long hours working at offices which gives them fewer abilities to exercise or even move their bodies. Moreover, having access to a gym and fitness is considered a privilege. Especially in developing countries where not everyone can afford to pay for gym memberships. However, despite knowing all the causes, trying to change people ’s habits is still a difficult thing to do especially with how these habits were caused by structural problems. It will require intervention from governments and support from related organizations in order to make the solution more effective. For instance, subsidizing the production of healthy ingredients can make them more available for normal citizens, Building public fitnesses and gyms or making cities more walkable so that people can have access to free exercise. In conclusion, people being overweight is obviously a very concerning issue in today’s society but tackling the issue will require not only people ’s awareness but also oversight from the government as well.