The life expectancy of the modern people has been expanded, this is the positive of modern medical care Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, life expectancy across the world has been rising thanks to advancements in medical research. For those who are living a lavish life, extended longevity is a blessing. However, the negative aspects of this trend outweigh the positive ones. One of the main positives of life extension is that many individuals have more opportunities for recreational activities. Since people have more time to enjoy life, they can participate in a wide range of entertaining activities such as travelling abroad and playing aquatic sports, which they did not have a chance to do due to their hectic working schedules. Secondly, an increasing number of elderly persons can lead to a growing pool of volunteers for charitable campaigns. Since older people are financially comfortable, they find pleasure in giving back to their communities and countries. On the other hand, maximizing the human lifespan will lead to overpopulation, resulting in the depletion of natural resources. Vast amounts of forests will be cleared to make space for residential buildings and food factories, which will have detrimental effects on the environment, exacerbating pre-existing environmental issues such as air pollution and global warming. Another issue is that an ageing population also increases competition for jobs and young people may find it harder to access jobs since their older counterparts have a longer time to retire. In this case, less innovation and change take place in organisations as firms are confined to old ways of doing things. In conclusion, although increased life expectancy gives people more time to enjoy life and contribute to society, this trend will result in overpopulation and unemployment among young people due to changes in the labour market. Hence, the downsides of extending the human life span outweigh its upsides.