Smaking children is the best form of discipline. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Physical punishment has become more and more ubiquitous among parents these days as an efficient way to ensure discipline. These parents believe that smacking is necessary for developing good behaviour. This essay will argue that corporal punishment is completely unneeded to raise well-behaved children. Some people have always believed that the perfect way to control rebellious non-obedient children is by inflicting physical pain on them. This type of punishment is most likely to make youngsters remember and fear the consequences of their ill-mannered behaviours. It also controls some children's tantrums and those who are stubborn and do not relent to slight punishments. For example, parents can resort to smacking if the children have a repetitive uncontrolled outburst of anger whenever they can't get what they want. Therefore, some individuals hold that this parenting style reinforces good manners. However, this kind of belief is completely preposterous and does not contribute to anything except damaging the mental health of children. In other words, youngsters have different ways of expressing themselves, even if the method used can seem unacceptable to others, they are communicating their worries through it, so oppressing them using violence instead of trying to understand the hidden messages will definitely have detrimental and unfortunately sometimes irreparable damage on their personalities as well as their psychological well-being. For instance, a study proved that children who have been exposed to physical pain as a form of punishment are more likely to develop personality disorders. Overall, the idea of inflicting pain on children is actually an attempt to silence and make them submissive which is not a civilized act. In conclusion, this essay argued that people who deem smacking their children to be the best form of discipline are in fact trying to oppress them instead of understanding. In my opinion, resorting to corporal punishment is an entirely unjustified and completely unacceptable form of raising children. Hence, I totally disagree.