Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that children benefit more if they read books rather than playing video games or watching TV programs. Personally, I disagree with this view, for these activities allow children to gain different skills and broaden their understanding of different aspects of life. There are good reasons to say that reading stories is more beneficial to children than playing computer games or watching TV. The key reason is that reading undoubtedly helps children enrich their vocabulary, which, in turn, enhances their ability to absorb knowledge. As a result, they are likely to have a strong academic performance in the future. In addition, reading books allows children to have better imagination since they have to conjure up images on their own when they read, say. a story. This can boost their creativity, which is a buffer against unemployment in today's workplace, where automation is terminating countless jobs in various industries. There are stronger reasons to argue that reading stories is not necessarily better than gaming or watching TV. The most important reason is that when children play computer games, they need to constantly think of strategies to win. This has a positive impact on their decision-making skills. Furthermore, since most programs on TV confer certain educational values, children can learn that which is not featured in children's stories. For example, by watching a documentary called ‘The Planet Earth', viewers can have intimate knowledge about how wild animals live and hunt and how we are polluting the environment. These things are rarely included in any stories found in children's books. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that reading books is better for children than playing computer games or watching TV. This is because each of these pastimes teaches children different important skills and areas of knowledge.