Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, many offices opt for open space over traditional designs with cubicles. In my own perspective, although an open environment may bring some drawbacks, the benefits of open-space designs seem to outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, modern office designs tend to have some disadvantages. Firstly, an open working environment can lead to distraction at work, which may ascribe to a lack of efficiency. As they work in an open space, people are easily distracted by outer stimulations such as colleagues’ speech or random chit-chat. Once they are interrupted, they have to spend time on pause and re-focus moment. Besides, staff have much less privacy compared with that in traditional cubicles. This condition makes employees frightened. Hence, they tend to be scared to show off themselves and do personal activities such as checking mail or making a phone call. On the other hand, workers can take vast advantage of open working space. First of all, that new environment can enhance people's communication skills. As they work in a mutual environment with other colleagues, they can share and experience different characteristics. Hence, they can facilitate appropriate interactions between individuals by developing suitable ways of socializing with each person. Secondly, the true intention of this design is to boost creativity. The employees can share different perspectives as they can easily communicate with other colleagues. Therefore, they can cross-influence each other in terms of intensifying international abilities. Moreover, the pause of work that is caused by distractions can help workers revitalize their minds after intensive working hours. Hence, they can display a better performance later. To abridge, it can be inferred that an open-space work environment seems to enhance people's communication skills and creativity. To abridge, the open-space design of offices has been utilized by abundant corporations. In my opinion, the benefits of modern office designs tend to outweigh the drawbacks. Although modern office design can lead to distraction and lack of privacy, it can do more benefits than harm.