Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, some people think it is better for government to make a bigger investment in railways than roads. I completely agree with this idea. This essay will explain the reason why railway development will be more beneficial than road construction projects. Firstly, rail based transportation modes would decrease the level of air pollution in a city. Since the rail network developed, people are able to transport by train to any district they want. The citizens do not have to use or buy private vehicles such as cars and motorcycles to commute. Thus, the carbon emission in a certain city could be lowered. For instance, I have been to Singapore which has an extensive rail connection in the country. On my trip to Singapore, I could breathe comfortably as the amount of pollution from cars was very low. Based on this, transporting by rail based like trains could improve air quality of a specific area. Secondly, an individual can travel faster by train. Railroads have been built specificly for the trains. On the other hand, the roads have been built to facilitate multiple sorts of vehicles including those which have large size like trucks and buses. During the peak hours, the main roads would be congested and people would take longer time to travel. For instance, I have to spend 1 hour for 10 kilometer trip by car, whereas I only need 15 minutes to be arrived at the same place and distance by the MRT. From my experience, I think rail based transportation could make traveling more time efficient. To sum up, I definitely support the opinion about prioritizing developments on railways. It is environment friendly and it enables people to transport for less time.