Many people now live in societies where consumer goods have become cheap. Do advantages outweigh disadvanatges?

In this modern era,it is very convenient to live a satisfactory life as societies provide essential goods at a low rate. Most people prefer to live where there they get goods at an affordable rate. This situation does more advantages than disadvantages. Firstly, dwindling poverty is a major byproduct when getting essential items at a cheaper rate. A couple of years ago, poverty was the foremost issue which was faced by people who lived in different societies. This was because most people did not get enough earnings in order to meet their necessities in day-to-day life. However, this problem has been suppressed a lot as the government provide subsidies for every single item required for living. To illustrate, the government of India gives items such as electricity,grains and water for free. This makes rural people enjoy these benefits. On the other hand, people build a tendency to abuse or misuse when they receive too much of benefits. The main thing is that the public becomes lazy thinking that they can get whatever they want at low cost or for free. Next, people may start to follow the use-and-throw trend or may waste more food items as they are unaware of their value. To illustrate, In Kerala people are wasting food because they get it for free. However, proper supply of essential items and management of products in an organized way control these tactics. To sum up, even though there are some people who misuse items,proper guidance and punishments will reduce this problem. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.