Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some surveys indicate that eating too much can be even more injurious than some drugs to our health. Therefore, some groups believe that some restrictions should be instituted to prevent the terrible consequences of this issue. This essay absolutely agrees with this statement and will provide its reasons.  On one hand, overeating and using inappropriate foods can threaten our health even more than cigarettes. Smoking is renowned for its injurious effects.but most people don’t have much information about the damage that fast foods can cause. Furthermore, some companies show them as healthy and lure customers. In addition, smoking mainly hurts the lungs. But, a bad diet can have an influence on the whole body. Because nutrients are crucial for cells to continue their lives and they get it from our meals. For example, some research shows that the number of McDonald's customers increased by 2.5% compared to last year and most of these individuals don’t care that much about their health. On the other hand, the issue of banning some food products has some critics. Firstly, limiting food products can mean the reduction of society’s freedom and lessen their choices. So, people may resist this new law. Secondly, overeating of any food can harm our body which makes this problem unavoidable except with changing the eating habits of the community. Eating too many vegetables, for instance, can kill some beneficial bacteria in the gut and cause blood diseases. Thirdly, eliminating some foods from meals reduces the food diversity among people and it can lead to a lack of some important elements like potassium. To conclude, we can’t eliminate foods that are popular in the community. But, we should change food habits among people to have a more healthy diet and lessen the quantity of food they eat daily instead.