In some societies,the number of crimes comitted by teenagers is growing.some people think that regardless of age teenagers who commit majour crimes should receive adult punishment.To what extent do you agree of disagree?

A lot is being spoken about juvenile crimes these days. An increasing number of crimes are reported to have been committed by teens in some establishments, as a result of which there are growing voices that seek uniform sentences for bigger criminal activities, regardless of age. I strongly agree with this notion and will put forward my points to support it in the coming paragraphs. Nowadays teenagers are involved in several heinous offences such as rape and murder unlike in the past. However, our age-old judicial system does not punish them harshly. For example, in the Nirbhaya gangrape and murder case, the primary convict was not given capital punishment due to the fact that he was seventeen when the crime was committed, and only sent to the juvenile detention centre for 3 years. Consequently, this judgement created a furore all over India as people expected all the convicts to be awarded the death penalty, but this teen escaped due to the British-era juvenile laws. Hence, I do not think any leniency should be shown toward adolescents in case of major offences. On the contrary, a small section of society still thinks teenagers should get lesser sentences irrespective of the gravity of their crimes. They are of the view that juvenile minds have not developed fully and they should not be punished harshly. Moreover, people having this opinion want these underage criminals to be let off with counselling and psychological advice. In one of the shocking judgements, for instance, a teenager involved in the murder of his father was released on his mother's plea. Thus, these groups think that the severity of the crime should be overlooked in the case of teenagers. To summarize, a gradual increase is seen in serious offences committed by juveniles. Despite the majority in favour of not showing any leniency in severe violations committed by teens, a handful minority do not favour harsh judgements for teens, unlike the adults. I fully agree with the popular opinion that the teens involved in terrible misdeeds should receive adult punishments as justice needs to be served to the victims at any cost.