A noticeable lack of students opting for science subjects at universities is observed in various countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects on society?

In this contemporary epoch, with the widespread of education and technology, it has become apparent that the number of learners choosing to pursue scientific subjects has declined in recent years. Some causes and possible ramifications of this phenomenon will be discussed. To embark on, it is believed that one of the major reasons for the apparent decline in applicants to major science fields is the increase in tuition fees for many universities around the world. This means that, if students come from poor backgrounds, they will not be able to apply for postgraduate education due to the exorbitant fees. For example, as per an article published by the BBC, it was revealed that numerous young adults found it impossible to apply to many universities worldwide due to economic reasons. Therefore, looking for ways to reduce tuition fees must be one of the major priorities of governments around the world. Furthermore, Scientists think that the global decline in graduates from scientific colleges will lead to the deceleration of technological advancement worldwide. In other words, if this problem persists, it will lead to a reduction in innovation in many areas. A prominent example of this is a study conducted by Oxford University predicts that the process of innovation will be much slower in the upcoming decades attributable to the lack of researchers and scientists. Accordingly, there will be a decline in technological breakthroughs. Hence, the reduction of learners in scientific fields not only will affect this generation, but it will also affect future generations. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that due to the economic problems that have affected youth recently, enrollment in many research-oriented colleges decreased significantly. Consequently, there will be a halt in technological advancements around the world, and it is the responsibility of authorities around the world to encourage students to pursue research studies by reducing the tuition expenses of universities around the world.