Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that many people show a high tendency to take home treatments as an alternative to conventional medicines these days. Although home prescriptions have some positive results occasionally, I believe the trend is backward progress mostly. On the one hand, there are several reliable experiences related to local treatments in almost every family. In fact, the elderly usually have learned from their ancestors how to treat their pains independently. For example, we can vividly remember herbal drinks of our grandmothers for treating headaches, backaches, stomaches, toothaches, and others which are conclusive most of the time. Additionally, those methods are cheap and convenient. It does not cost an arm and a leg to get them and it does not need a high level of energy and time. So, many people are eager to use it. On the other hand, taking local medicines may have various negative effects. Since inexperienced physicians have not taken medical specialized courses, they do not have deep knowledge. Accordingly, they may cause a simple injury to become serious and dangerous pain. For instance, if an uneducated doctor does not distinguish the correct point of a broken leg or hand, he/she may lead to the worst leg fracture which needs much more money and time to be medicated. Moreover, the vast majority of doctors have burnt the midnight oil to get their degrees. Then, it does really worth trying their prescription. In conclusion, despite the fact that home remedies are effective every once in a while, I think, owing to their possible side effects, and with respect to qualified doctors, we should rush to a knowledgeable practitioner whenever necessary.