Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it is believed by some that watching TV has a lot of benefits when others think that watching TV is only harmful. Although watching telly may have many downsides for young children, I personally believe that the upsides are more significant. On the one hand, there are some bad points of children watching too much TV. First, a lot of channels have contents that affect the mentality and thinking of children. There are many channels which have inappropriate content such as murders, violence or weapons. Therefore, children may have incorrect thinking and they may follow these awful behaviours. Second, watching TV a lot will affect the health of children. Spending too much time in front of the TV can lead to eye problems. For example, when I was in grade 3, I watched TV a lot so I am nearsighted and I must wear glasses. Also, watching TV may make children obese because they do not do enough physical activities. On the other hand, it is my firm belief that the good points of watching TV are weightier. To begin with, children can develop themselves and their brains. They can study different aspects of the world when they watch TV. Also, they can know and understand themselves by watching programs about personality development. Moreover, children can watch TV to relax after studying. They will be happy and comfortable so when they study again, they will study harder and more effectively. Having time to rest, children will not be pressured and do not have any unfortunate actions happen. In conclusion, although there are certain drawbacks when children watch TV, I am firmly convinced that the benefits are more considerable.