Today, people are buying more consumer goods lik ejwelry and household appliances. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many individuals are inclined to purchase some pieces of jewellery and household equipment. There are contradicting issues behind that phenomenon both merit, such as long-term savings, and the demerit of wasting money. I personally comprehend that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. It is noticeable that all household needs vary and can be classified into some categories. Such as long-term, primary and luxurious needs, etc. However, the advantages of buying embellishments and appliances can be attributed to the long-term and luxurious stuff. When some people purchase jewellery, they tend to fulfil their needs while saving money by buying and then selling them in the future. Moreover, the price of jewellery such as gold and pearl is increasing each year. Hence, it can be the solution for them to keep their wealth without many risks. On the other hand, wasting money is also rationale although a little contradictive due to myriads of primary needs that should be prioritized first such as education, consumption needs, health, and others. Thus, buying them is perceived as the second choice after the staple one is sufficient. Taking the example of juveniles nowadays, research from the Islamic State University of Jakarta reveals that most teenagers prefer to choose to buy fashion, LCD TV, and jewellery rather than pay tuition fees or some other primary needs. Consequently, a half per cent of them are confused and dropped off of school because cannot manage the money themselves. In conclusion, although there is a long-term advantage to buying some appliances and jewellery. However, many other needs such as education fees have to be prioritized at first. Therefore, the negative sides exceed the positive ones.