The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Fast and semi-prepared foods have definitely made consumers’ lives easier in the busy contemporary world. Undoubtedly, such a kind of product has quite a few pros. However, constant consumption of unhealthy food takes its toll on individuals’ state of health and hence the expectancy of their lives. In my opinion, it is not the case that the benefits of processed products exceed the drawbacks. On one hand, convenience foods save plenty of time because it is easy to cook. Moreover, it is inexpensive and affordable for everyone. On top of that, a person can find such products at any grocery store nowadays. For instance, a survey conducted in a supermarket Metro in Moscow has demonstrated that 80% of buyers had convenience goods in their product baskets. According to them, convenience products help them save up at least one hour a day. Therefore, it can be seen that such food has a lot of benefits. On the other hand, daily consumption of fast and processed foods might lead to different diseases such as dysbiosis, gastritis, obesity and so on. For example, long-term studies have shown that the consumption of fresh fruit and vegetables has decreased over the past 20 years whereas processed foodstuff has become increasingly common. As a result, the number of patients suffering from extra weight has also grown. Thus, eating unhealthy food has severe consequences. In conclusion, even though semi-prepared and processed products are relatively cheap and easy to cook they have hidden cost which is detrimental or even fatal to the health state in long run.