Essay topics: As a result of electronic inventions such as the computer and television, people do less physical activity, and this is having a negative effect on their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In modern times, people are trying to stay connected and up-to-date with the world at all times by using social media and the internet. There are numerous advantages to the use of social media. First of all is the ability of families and friends to stay connected, even though distance and time sometimes don't permit meeting in person. Another advantage of having the data at hand is that we can adapt our plans to the news and avoid wasting hours. A good example is being able to dodge traffic at rush hour by our phone calculating the quickest and sometimes unknown route to our destination. There are many advantages to staying up-to-date all day, however, there are important disadvantages to this trend as well. Continuously checking in on the news and trying to stay in touch with our community makes us spend valuable time on devices rather than us using this time to socialise and enjoy each other's company. Looking at our screen has a major impact on our real-life relationships with people. Although we are digitally connected to half of the world we are definitely missing out on a great deal of in-person interactions. This lack of life communication could additionally cause us to lose some of our social intelligence and capabilities. In conclusion, I would state that even though there are disadvantages to the use of social media, the benefits of news availability and social interaction on digital platforms are undeniable. Access to data enables us to save valuable hours and interact with people we wouldn't be able to meet in daily life.