Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, custodial sentences are an effective method to reduce law-breaking activities worldwide. Some communities oppose this fact and argue that increasing educational aspects and literacy rates can provide more effective control over lawlessness in a region. However, in my view, I disagree with this notion because giving penalties is a tested and trial method to rule better over centuries because of the reasons that I will explain in this essay. I disagree that providing better education to a country's residents will help reduce violations overall because some cases need harsh punishments to implement effective law and order in the nation. For instance, acts of terrorism and murder must be dealt with penalties including death sentences for generating fear in minds of lawbreakers. Furthermore, by increasing educational standards, authorities can not stop the basic thoughts behind committing cruel acts. In fact, individuals break the law for their mental satisfaction because generally, they want to create or spread violence. It has nothing to do with their academic background. However, some people suppose that effective educational programs for society can bring huge benefits that could play an important role in changing the attitudes and behaviour of society towards committing misdeeds. They believe if the public is more educated, they will not commit crimes. Despite these concerns being relatively better, it seems to me that high study standards may bring some social benefits but for spreading peace in society education alone can not play an effective role. In conclusion, although penalties in the form of keeping a person in prison have been a way to decrease criminal activities in many countries for many decades, some parts of pupils hold the view that bringing educational reforms may help to control wrongdoers better. In my perspective, I disagree with this idea because the community must fear the law so they could not break the peace.