Some people think young people should be free to choose their job, while others believe that they should be realistic and think about their future. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has always been a heated topic when it comes to selecting an ideal occupation for the future. While some argue that young individuals should think carefully contemplate and consider their future career pathway, others hold a shared opinion that they should have the freedom of choice when making career decisions. From my perspective, both views should not be overlooked, which will be discussed in the following. First and foremost it is obvious that choosing a career with great practicalities and potential in the future is of great benefit to all. This is simply because people need well-paid work in order to fulfil their basic individual living needs, including housing, eating and more. In other words, making rational choices in job selection contributes to the overall well-being of oneself. Therefore, it is vital to consider various real-world factors of the occupation to ensure our health and happiness of ourselves. However, this is not to say that individuals should be aborted from the freedom of choosing their desired jobs. There is evidence showcases that people do not have the same level of passion and enthusiasm when they are in an industry that they dislike. Accordingly, this significantly reduces the amount of work output. This, as a result, not only has a negative impact on the workplace's overall performance but also wastes the financial and human resources which could have been better invested elsewhere. An example of this is that if Mozart had not allowed to pursue his music dream, we would have not been able to enjoy the delightful pieces of music he conducted. Synthesised from the two viewpoints, my personal opinion is to have a balanced approach when deciding our life-long career pathway. Firstly, it is vital to consider whether the job is able to cater for our basic well-being needs. This aligns with Maslow's hierarchy of needs theory. Secondly, we should also make full use of our jobs to pursue our personal dreams, maximising our various skill sets. This creates opportunities to invent more innovations or artistic creations, which is beneficial to society in return. To summarise, it is essential to address both perspectives when choosing our jobs for our future. We should not overlook one perspective over the other, as basic human needs are demanded to be fulfilled and the freedom to pursue passion should not be restricted. Only when both requirements are met, can we grow happily as 21st century citizens.