In many parts of the world, children are given more freedom in the past. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays a lot is spoken about child rights. In fact, many parents across the world allow their young ones to be more independent, unlike in the past. In my opinion, the benefits of giving more freedom to children outweigh its disadvantages. In the past, parents used to decide on behalf of their kids due to which the kids used to struggle after growing up. On the contrary, letting them take their own decisions makes them more confident adults when they grow up. This is mainly because they get to know about how things work at an early age which helps them to face complex situations later in life. For example, a child who gets to do the activities that he/she likes will definitely be more confident when he takes up a related profession. Thus, greater freedom in childhood is a positive development as it leads to highly confident adulthood. On the other hand, there are a few pitfalls to this trend. If there is not enough parental supervision, a child may get into wrongdoings which may lead to irreparable damage in some cases. To illustrate, parents today give mobile phones to minors while they are schooling, for their safety and to let them learn the ways in which the world operates. Since everything is available freely on the Internet, the good as well as the bad, it may happen that they may get into bad company and consequently, become victims of child abuse or death. For instance, a few years ago, there was a game which lead teenagers to take up their lives if they did not accomplish the game tasks and several cases of teen suicides were reported in the media. Hence, it is extremely important that privileges be given under parental supervision. To summarize, children today are more independent than the previous generation, which generates a great deal of confidence in them, and helps them to do better in their lives. However, I strongly think that along with the greater deal of freedom granted to children, it is crucial that their actions are monitored by their elders such that they do not fall into bad behaviours which can lead to harmful consequences later in life.