Write about the following topic. It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

People always argued about whether give gifts to others, because other people do not like it, and it is a waste of money. I partly agree with it, and this essay will explain why. When we send our gifts to our friends or family members, we do not know whether they like them. If they did not like it, the present will become useless to them. For instance, some parents often give their children a surprise on their birthday, so they will give the present without asking their children what they like. Therefore, children would not feel happy when they receive it, because they want other presents. In this case, gift giving makes people feel embarrassed, and wastes money. As a result, we should not send presents to others, if we do not know what they like. Nevertheless, gift-giving is not only giving presents but also representing our affection. When we send a gift to others, we also tell each other our sincerity and kindness, and they will feel these feelings. People are not paying much attention to what presents it is, which means they care about mental rather than material. Hence, no matter whether they like or dislike the gift, they still feel our kindness. Moreover, we can send some meaningful things as a present, so it would not cost a fortune and also convey our thoughts. In conclusion, It is true that sometimes it is a waste of money to give gifts that the other person does not like, but we can send something meaningful and inexpensive to convey our goodwill.