Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different viewpoints on the funding of creative artists. While some opine that authorities ought to offer funds to support these artists, others assert that they should obtain financial support from other sources. From my perspective, I believe it is pivotal to support these artists via both government and alternative sources. Undeniably, some art projects do need support from the public sector. In modern days, though people have attached more importance to art as time proceeds, a manifold of young and talented artists still need to be granted a chance to exert their value; thus support from the government can be conducive to them. Moreover, benefits can also be anticipated in funding artists, not only the authority can avail the development of the art industry and can also facilitate the boost of tourism. For example, the Taipei government have cooperated with many young artists to create an attraction, called Treasure Hill Artist Village. The spot now has attracted more tourists every year, and many artists have benefited from the project. On the other hand, I can understand the apprehension and argument about the issue of funding artists. From the view of many people, art is a relatively luxurious aspect, the importance of other projects, such as health care as well as the construction of the infrastructure takes precedence over art. Offering financial assistance to artists thus has a lower degree of necessity. Another common perspective is that artists are no different from other professions, they should be able to earn their income in lieu of being supported by the government. In conclusion, there are many decent reasons that creative artists should rely on other resources; however, I believe that government funding is also necessary to some extent.