Nowadays, some celebrities such as film stars, sportsmen and pop musicians are paid too much money. Do you agree or disagree? Which jobs should be highly paid?

In the present times, it has become increasingly common for famous celebrities like actors, musicians and athletes to be paid a much higher sum of money. One faction of people believe that this is not the right thing while others are of the view that they deserve this. I partially agree with the latter argument and at the same time, believe that there are other professions which deserve to be paid highly as well. This essay will explore these arguments and provide my humble opinion on this matter. Looking at the former argument, some people believe that celebrities do not deserve a high amount of salary. It is due to the fact that there are a few film stars who display acts of violence and nudity in their movies which promotes crime in society. Moreover, some of the actors and sportspersons take part in the advertisement of products which are harmful for the society such as tobacco and alcohol products. As a result, there is a general view in society that these stars should not be idolised and paid too much money. On the other hand, several people are of the view that these famous people deserve a higher pay because they work hard to bring entertainment to the general public and also represent their nation on a global scale. This group believes that only a handful of them encourage activities that have negative effects on the society and most of them are positive, honest and well-behaved humans. In my opinion, there are other professions like doctors, nurses, teachers and firemen who should have a higher pay structure as they are essential for society and without them, human civilisation would crumble. To conclude, I agree that celebrities should be paid a higher amount of money but only to a certain extent while the above-mentioned essential workers should be paid the handsome amount of money that they deserve.