Some people believe that the increasing number of vehicles is one of the biggest problem facing cities, while others believe that cities have bigger challenges. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

A certain number of people believe that Increasing the number of vehicles is a huge difficulty facing cities.In my opinion,cities face many problems but one of them is a traffic issue,on the other,hand the city has other big difficulties as well.In this, the essay I will discuss both problems. Perhaps the first step to take would be to improve the availability of public transport and install bus lanes throughout the city.whilst this would,in the short term,increase the pressure on the road,it is likely to result in more people using public transport and leaving their vehicle at home.One way of encouraging people to adopt buses and trains is to lower the price and expand the timetable. Following that,local councils or the government could make it more difficult for car drivers to use their cars by either charging a levy or only allowing certain vehicles in city areas on certain days.A similar system has been running in London for some time and has resulted in fewer vehicles on the road. An alternative idea, one which is more extreme than levies and selective use, is to simply prevent private passenger vehicles from entering the city at all. By having only public transport options, there would be no problem with congestion and would allow for more pedestrian areas in the metropolitan areas. To sum up, there is a range of options available to reduce the number of cars in the centre of cities, but ultimately they all rely on an increased public transport system and encouraging drivers and their passengers to use it.