A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most people these days judge others by how much money they make or by their position in social hierarchy. Values like honour, kindness and trust seem not desirable anymore. From my perspective, a high salary or important position in society does not say anything about one’s worth, and traits like sincerity and honour should be seen as much more precious. Firstly, people can be more laid-back around sincere person. If one is open and does not hide their mistakes, others will see him as someone who accepts that everyone is just a human and mistakes can happen. Therefore, they will also be more open about their flaws. Relationships with other people where everyone is open are much more healthier, than relationships where lies are common. Psychologists say that love relationships (or even any relationships) where lies are normal, are much more likely to end sooner. Thus, being sincere is advantageous for everyone. Secondly, honour is what makes human really valuable. Honourable people keep their word, make morally right decisions. It is much easier to trust someone who is honourable. For example people usually do not like nor trust politicians, because they rarely keep their promises, and some of them make immoral decisions just to get power. So being honourable not only makes you a more valuable person in other people ’s eyes but also you feel better with yourself, because you make the right decisions. In conclusion, old-fashioned values did not lose any importance and people should not judge others according to social status or material possessions.