Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that as technology advances, it will ease the challenges of law enforcement. I am generally in agreement that these innovations will not completely eliminate criminality as it is inherent to human nature. Critics would argue that crime is a natural human instinct. Crime has existed in all human society for thousands of years and improvements in law enforcement can only hope to limit, not extinguish, a basic element of human nature. The reason for this is the natural conflict between the desires of individuals and the expectations of society. In most cases, an individual inhibits his or her impulses, but some lack this restraint and violate the dictates of society. Many of these individuals, for reasons related to nature or upbringing, would struggle to control themselves even if there was near certainty they would be apprehended. Nonetheless, crime can be effectively countered by more invasive surveillance. Governments now have the capacity to install cameras in the physical world and watch individuals carefully online as well. The best-known examples of this would be in countries where cameras are common. In these, often authoritarian nations, governments are able to record footage of nearly every street. As criminals are aware there is a near 100% chance they will be filmed and arrested, and crime statistics in those areas are negligible. This reduction in crime due to an awareness of ubiquitous surveillance can also be extended to the online sphere, where law enforcement can monitor VPNs, and IP addresses to detect and trace illegal activity. In conclusion, despite the likelihood that crime will never be completely eliminated, the advent of increased surveillance in particular will lead to drastic reductions in offences in the coming decades. Governments will then, as always, have to balance the priorities of safety against claims to freedom and privacy.