In some countries, young people are encouraged to take a year off for travelling and working between high school and university. What are the advantages and Disadvantages of this?

Some people gives a suggestion that, before starting the university life, students should spend a year in working or traveling. This essay will describe that experience gained and expanding network are the biggest advantage of this, but delaying careers and reducing motivation to study are the main disadvantages. Working after high school is a great opportunity to gain work experiences. If it is a job that related to our future study then we can practice from it and this might even help to complete our assignment and to get better exam results in university. Working before university is a great way to making new friends as well. While we are working, we can meet up with people from different background and with different skills. Alternatively,taking break in between studies also have some major drawbacks. Traveling can end up making a student lazy in studying and disturbing from focusing. Vacation gives more time to spend in entertaining than learning such as having party, playing games, etc. Thus, it is like wasting time by doing nothing and decreases motivation in learning. In conclusion, although traveling and working before third level education has many benefits for students, it is important to notice that they harm students’ motivation and can face difficulties in their future careers.