Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is observed that youngsters spend more time on their mobile devices daily. To me, this may be due to attractive applications found on telephones. However, I believe it is a negative trend as we shall see in this essay. First and foremost, technology has revolutionalized our world today that parents gift their children tele devices on special occasions like their birthdays. Some teenagers tend to abandon assignments after school to play games or surf the net for the rest of the day. This has lead to majority of them been addictive to phones and has resulted to poor academic performance. For instance, a survey carried out by Ministry of Education in Nigeria shows that educational attainment has decreased in this era because of the amount of time spent on the internet by children. Thus, time consumed on operating phones have caused more harm than good. A detailed evaluation of the situation above gives me a distinct impression that this may be due to certain features or applications seen on mobile devices. Youngsters are easily distracted with new applications seen on smartphones and want to explore it to find out every detail about it. Some spend hours on Tik tok, new games, Facebook and Instagram. For example, my cousin updated her phone and saw some free applications added, she became addicted to the phone, spending more hours on it and was asked to repeat a class because of poor academic performance. In conclusion, youngsters spend more time on their mobile devices daily due to the attractive applications it has. However, I feel it is a step in the wrong direction because of poor educational achievement observed in them.