Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

These days, more and more people own cars, and as a consequence, everywhere on the roads is full of long-term traffic congestion. These issues could be solved by investing and improving the quality of public transport infrastructure. Firstly, the number of private cars on the road is increasing sharply, which is leading to never-stop traffic jams. Because a lot of people go to work and reach their destination by car,at rush hour there are long lines of cars. Consequently, drivers spend most of their time on roads reaching their destination. For example, Los Angeles, California, is notorious for its traffic congestion. The city consistently ranks among the top cities in the world for traffic congestion, with commuters spending an average of 119 hours stuck in traffic in 2019. Thus, individuals are wasting their lifetime on roads. In order to solve this issue, one feasible approach is that governments invest in building and developing public infrastructure transportation networks. By improving the quality of service, and reducing costs, they can encourage commuters to use public transportation. For instance, in 2019 the city Zurich of Switzerland, implemented a comprehensive overhaul of its public transport system, including expanding tram and bus routes, improving frequency and reliability, and integrating different modes of transportation such as trains, trams, buses, and bicycles into a seamless network. As a result, the number of people using public transport increased significantly, with more commuters opting to take buses, trams, and trains instead of driving their cars. Therefore, if the government take enough actions to qualify the public transport system, people will tend to use less private cars. In conclusion, while many citizens utilizing their own cars, it is causing numerous problems. Hence, authorities should discourage people from using it by expanding public transport frequency and quality.