Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be taken as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While remote learning becomes more and more popular among the masses nowadays, there are people who believe that it can not replace classic teaching in its quality. Since there is a vast list of arguments that support both these points of view, I would like to discuss a couple of the most common ones and explain my thoughts on this question. When it comes to distance learning, lack of focus is considered to be one of the most reasonable arguments against it. This is due to the fact that most of the students choose the wrong location to attend their lessons like common living rooms or cafes where they might be distracted by other people like their family members. In the end, it all might result in a much worse quality of gained knowledge compared to those people who study in classrooms. However, conducting online courses requires less effort which makes them more affordable than those taken in person from a financial perspective. For instance, teachers have an option to record their sessions in advance which might slightly reduce the price of enrollment as teachers will need less time to explain the same material to different groups. Hence, such a way of studying gives more opportunities to those, who do not have enough savings to go to college or university. Taking both these ideas into consideration, it becomes clear that distance learning has both pros and cons. I believe that making education cheaper gives a lot of benefits to society and bringing it to the online format is one of the easiest ways to achieve that. Therefore I totally disagree with the idea that remote education has no chance against colleges and universities.