In many western countries there are an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

The rate of couples choosing not to have children has been rising dramatically in the past few years, especially in western countries. This essay will discuss the benefits of that and its drawbacks. To commence with, it is known that having no kids allow couples to live freely with fewer responsibilities, thus they don’t have to worry about their spending and expenses and enjoy their life. In fact, children require a lot of savings, therefore people with limited income, in an attempt to limit their struggle in life, decide not to have any children. Moreover, some people prioritize their careers, and focus on reaching their goals at their jobs rather than having kids, since children are not only economically demanding but also require plenty of time and attention, therefore, parents might become distracted at work. For instance, a recent study showed that 55% of couples having no children accomplished their ambitions at work and are living happier than the ones having kids. On the other hand, people at older ages are highly prone to psychological instabilities such as depression and require more care and attention, thus, couples with no children might feel lonely at this stage and suffer from mental and health issues. For example, most of the elderly in nursing homes are those who chose not to have any children. To sum up, not having children is becoming a common aspect, despite the fact that they can live freely with fewer responsibilities, couples might end up lonely and depressed at an older age.