Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as foood, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Growing a child is a demanding task that requires knowledge and wisdom. Allowing a child to chose what to wear, eat or do, might lead to a selfish behaviour in adulthood; however, I believe that freedom of choice teaches responsibility of an anction auction and it is important to allow a child make the decision. It is said that every child is selfish until some certain age and parenting should teach overcome this as well as adjust to the environment. Such small details as choosing the outfit or meal might feel like power to the young one, leading to the idea that everything is given what the one wants. As the result, this behaviour make a young person selfish and less flexible in the restricted environments. My niece, for instance, is two years old and get everything she chooses; the girl becomes jealous when her mom is talking to someone else and starts crying. Thus, I think that this early age habit might turn into more serious dramas when the girl grows up. Freedom, on the other hand, builds confidence, sense of responsibility and self-efficacy. Research shows that such decision like what to wear or eat, have significant impact on cognitive behaviour development and allow children to be more independent and decisive. As, owing a decision and independance are key factors building self-awareness, self-confidence and responsible activity, I agree that choice-making is a great learning in the childhood. As a conclusion, despite having challenges with self-excentric perception in childhood and puberty, personally, I think that decision -making is an excellent way to bring self-trust and confidence to a child. Once children learn the outcome of their decision, they can start learning from their mistakes.