Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the advancements in modern technology, the possibility of driverless machines has been increasing for several years. Experts in the automobile industry believe that factories could launch auto that can be driven for various purposes without a driver. In my opinion, I think that it is a negative development overall because of some main issues that I will explain in this essay. To begin with, unemployment could increase in many regions across the world due to this automation. This is to say, a majority of the population work as a driver in huge enterprises so if these companies shift to digital vehicles, a threat of losing jobs for operators of these machines may arise in this sector. For instance, skilled employees are not trained enough for this kind of advanced technology. Thus, instead of allocating a budget for high-tech pieces of training, companies could simply buy advanced cars to perform duties, due to which, the number of jobs for drivers could reduce significantly. Furthermore, the number of car accidents may also rise exponentially. This is because, not only digital malfunction is common in such kinds of technologies but also hackers can hack the computer programs of these vehicles. As a result, car crashes could happen either due to a problem with machines or purposefully by criminals. Despite these major concerns, it could be argued that corporations can save a huge amount of money by reducing their staff members, also machines do not take sick leaves so no work loss is possible. However, these benefits are minor compared to the disadvantages of this trend of using driverless cars. In conclusion, scientific research is at a fast pace nowadays in the automobile category and engineers may develop automobiles without the need for individuals soon. In my perspective, I am convinced that the drawbacks like the chance of criminal activity and problems with operating machinery are far more significant that the advantages of this development.