104.In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try har enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is argued that by working hard, people can get what want. The main benefits of this are individuals will continuously make an effort and people will have higher self-esteem, however, the key drawbacks are too much emphasis on hard work and unable to face failures. Firstly, individuals will be more confident in themselves. If people have succeeded in one of their accomplishments after working hard, they will be sure that the message they were told is correct, and they will be confident to repeat success. Furthermore, people will be willing to make more effort. This is because they know that by working hard they can reach everything, so they will never give up until they achieve it. For example, many businessmen succeed because they are sure that by hard work they will triumph, even if they fail they will still try until they get it. The main disadvantage of this message is that some people will start doubting themselves. If they do not get what they want even by working hard, they will think that they are not good at anything. Moreover, people will put too much emphasis on hard work. There are other factors that can affect the achievement, such as the environment in which someone grows up, the family and the place. For instance, some Chinese people who live in the mountains, think that they will have a better life if they study hard, but the reality is, that when they reach a certain age, they will be forced by their parents to get married and have babies. In conclusion, the benefits of telling children that they can get everything by trying hard is that they will gain confidence and will continuously try, while the disadvantages are that people give too much importance to hard work and are not able to face their non-fulfilment.