Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The Internet has paved the way for the easy accessibility of various resources at a fast pace. Online shopping has become more popular in recent days as it provides an edge over traditional means of buying products and services. Booking air tickets, purchase of books and buying groceries through digital apps is all possible just at the click of a button now. This essay will discuss various benefits and drawbacks of buying things online and will opine on the better way to shop. Nowadays, there are ample platforms that provide online shopping facilities as it is more convenient than physical buying routes. Online shopping gives a wide variety of options and it provides the facility to compare features and prices, which is almost impossible when it comes to the physical mode of shopping. In addition, physical shopping is more time-consuming and uneconomical. For instance, a person doing a 9 to 5 job would have no time to go to the ration store every day in order to buy groceries. Applications such as swiggy, and reliance market have made their life easier by providing items of basic necessity (bread, butter, milk, fruits and vegetables) at their doorstep within a time frame of less than an hour. Furthermore, some of the trusted sites like Amazon, Make my trip, Flipkart and Myntra etc. provides the facility of easy returns and exchanges. Hence online shopping proves to be a more reliable and easiest means to procure something. On the other hand, online buying has various drawbacks as well. While making payments online, there is a risk of web threats which could result in the stealing of inputs like credit card numbers and passwords. Moreover, few online sites display fake products which are not accepted for return as well. Recently, one of my friends got trapped in a fake deal over an Instagram purchase wherein the account owner provided a link to purchase the apparel from a website which asked for advance payment. The product received was defective and used. The owner of that Instagram page refused to return the money and the whole page was deleted in a few days. Thus, it is very difficult to judge the true identity of a person behind these applications and this could result in a huge loss to a common individual. Therefore, we learn from the above-mentioned points that in order to match the pace of the competitive world, online shopping is no doubt an added advantage and it is difficult to escape from this means of shopping in coming years. However, one should be extra cautious while shopping online and spread awareness regarding duplicate sites and report them at the appropriate times.