"Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?"

Nowadays, many large corporations relocate their office to the countryside. Will such a decision be beneficial for their businesses? Some people believe that moving the industries to the suburban area will give an advantage. In contrast, I believe there are severe consequences in pursuing this action. Thus, I strongly believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. The main reason for companies to establish their office in a rural area because the land price is much cheaper than in a city. For example, the land cost in Jakarta might ten times higher than the price in Karawang, a countryside with around 50 km away from Jakarta. By doing so, the company can save its capital expenses and might build more spacious workplace. However, the consequence of this decision is that the office will be far away from the residential area, which makes it harder to be accessed by the employees. This condition will eventually reduce the productivity of the workers. For instance, the employees must spend more budget in transportation costs, go to the office earlier, and come home late at night. It can affect employees’ mental and physical health, which in turn will impair the company’s performance. In addition, the office in a remote area can also hinder the company from holding meetings or coordinating with stakeholders, because they are mostly located in the centre of a city. In conclusion, the drawbacks of moving a company from an urban area to a rural area outweigh its benefits due to employee commute. It will be more efficient for an enterprise if it places its office in an area that is accessible to its employees.