Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The environment needs protection globally. In modern days at least 80% of mother nature has been damaged by the use of plastic and other non-degradable items. It is the responsibility of the local authorities and citizens of the country that need to protect the environment from non-environmentally friendly consumer products such as plastic bags, plastic bottles as well as plastic packaging. This essay will discuss how these goods affect nature and find alternative solutions that help to protect the environment. First and foremost, disregarded plastic is non-biodegradable item, therefore according to,research approximately 80% of environmental pollution has been affected globally. Moreover, the environment can be affected by deforestation, and air pollution these aspects also affect animals as well. For example, in Sri Lanka approximately 60% of underwater animals are affected by plastics floating in the water., Secondly to avoid these issues, the government can build environmental campaigns to educate the people. These effective campaigns will help the younger generation to protect their mother nature as well in the future. Furthermore, the government can introduce alternative precautions to avoid using plastic such as plastic straws to be replaced with aluminium straws, alternative plastic bags can be replaced with paper bags. Introducing home composting, will allow individuals to grow vegetables, and fruits in their home garden. In the meantime, it is also the responsibility of the individual to educate themselves as well as to take responsibility to protect the environment. According to research by introducing recyclable items and deforestation can decrease global warming. In summary my point of view would be that not every individual will take responsibility to protect the environment,, however I believe at least a certain section of people will do so. As mentioned above local authorities need to act and ban the usage of plastic and introduce alternatives to protect nature.