In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

In recent decades, many different countries and cultures hold on to pretty similar values regarding word success which was the contribution of various factors, among them, are political ideas and economic systems. The notion that success is merely the result of our hard work is taught in various cultures around the globe and while it can bring some positive results, it can certainly have a lot of negative effects on children's lives as well. On the positive side, teaching kids that their ability to reach their goals depends solely on their own hard work can plant positive mindsets within the kids and later benefit them both in terms of study and their careers later on in their lives. Planting this idea can inspire youngsters to work harder, have a higher level of resilience, help them set their point of achievement, and build determination and confidence. Not only that, holding onto this idea can make children grow up to be more positive which can potentially lead to them doing better in their lives and their careers. For instance, employees who have more positive mindsets and believe they have the ability to solve problems are suitable for leadership positions since they can have a positive influence both on themselves and their teammates. However, despite the idea being so attractive it certainly can lead to several drawbacks and can create a huge toll on one's mental condition. By this point, I believe we should accept this value about success is obviously not true. There are other things that can contribute to one's success like family background, surrounding environment, race, ethnicity, and several others, most of which are the factors we cannot control. Therefore, believing that we can achieve everything only by sufficient willpower can create illusions and unrealistic expectations about success that can lead to people being not satisfied with their current positions and beating themselves up over small failures and as a result, take a toll on their mental health and overall well-being. In conclusion, this perspective on the word success has been one of the most notable ideas which have inspired people around the world and led to wonderful achievements and inventions. Nevertheless, teaching kids only this notion and not the other angles of success and achievement can badly affect them as well.