Many people these days travel far for work or spend more hours working. Does this trend have more advantages or disadvantages? What do you think about work-life balance?

During the COVID era, commuting long hours to work was a norm for most societies, especially in prominent cities where businesses and companies were usually more concentrated in the central areas of the city. However, the way COVID has changed the way we work in recent years, begs the question of whether spending tremendous time on travel has more positive or negative effects on employees ' lives and well-being. In this essay, I will explore both aspects and provide my thought on how commute can affect work -life balance. On the positive side, commuting to work and presenting themselves to the offices instead of meeting each other merely on video call applications every once in a while can build a better sense of teamwork and foster a good relationship between employees since it enables employees to have face-to-face interactions. Moreover, Being able to physically work together can accelerate and improve work performance because they are able to brainstorm and discuss issues in person which as a result, leads them to be able to quickly come up with better ideas and solutions. However, although it can bring some positive effects, spending a considerable amount of time on the commute can have plenty of disadvantages as well as can severely damage employees ' well-being. Particularly in developing countries with overall poor public transportation. For example, people who live in the outer areas of the city of Bangkok have to spend roughly two hours on travel to and back from work each day. Having to spend one or two hours of commute each day and combining it with already long working hours barely left the time for employees to get enough rest and do other activities to release themselves from the stress from work. This lack of work -life balance can cause damage to both physical and mental health and negatively affects employees ' ability to perform on their tasks as well. In conclusion, even though commuting to work can have certain advantages, they are incomparable to the negative toll it can take on one's physical and mental condition. Therefore, I believe that cutting long hours of travelling to retain work -life balance and enable people to do other essential activities to preserve their well-being is the trajectory business should take going into the future.