Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Addiction to drugs has increased at a fast pace in recent years. Many people are of the view that drug addicts are criminals and should be imprisoned. On the other hand, few believe that they should be sent to hospitals and that proper treatment should be provided like normal patients. This essay will discuss both the views and opine on the fact that not all drug addicts are criminals and assistance should be granted in some cases. Nowadays, the youth has started taking cocaine, heroin and other types of drugs as a result of bad company, unemployment and high desires to fulfil. Not only this but, most drug addicts are also getting involved in other types of crime including petty theft, assaulting women, abuse and much more. Society has a sense of fear of these people as they have built a bad image in their minds. Studies have shown that increase in the crime rate is the result of an increase in the volume of drug dealers. Therefore, it becomes necessary for the authorities to punish these people and sent them to jail for the welfare of the general public. On the contrary, we need to establish a fine line between people taking drugs and criminals in some places. There also exists a class of addicts who have indulged themselves in such activities as a result of loneliness, loss of their immediate families, unemployment etc., and become habitual to it as it helped them in releasing anxiety and stress in the first place. These people need help from our government by way of their proper treatment in hospitals like other patients so that they can get rid of this addiction and live their life in a normal manner. In the conclusion, as per my opinion, not all drug addicts are criminals and it is very important to understand the true identity of the person behind such habits. As treatment of every drug addict into a better individual would contribute to the nation's growth.