Many young children have unmonitored access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. What problems do children face while being online without the supervision of parents? How can these problems be solved?

These days the internet is as essential as food for certain teenagers. Not only do they have unrestricted allowance to use the internet but also they are using the internet to build social interaction. However, this trend brings with it numerous repercussions which are needed to be addressed and overpowered. To commence with, fraud is the major issue a child could come across with unsupervised access to the internet. The social site is a hub for fraudsters. They trap innocent kids, especially girls, and misuse their private information and in worst cases, they even blackmail them to fulfil their sexual desires or monetary benefits. Furthermore, such incidents can traumatize an individual. Another problem that needs to be considered is that students can get distracted while studying. To exemplify, according to reports, there are around 3000 cases every month, concerning the hacking of social media accounts for defamation. Hence, privacy is at stake through irrational access to the internet. One immediate practical solution is that the internet should be allowed with parental controls and for a limited time only. Additionally, the feature of blocking unprotected websites should be implemented by parents. Moreover, constant monitoring is a necessity. For instance, AppVault is one such software which blocks and even at times tracks the usage of risky sites. Thus, with the help of,technology this hurdle can be crossed. To conclude, although the internet has innumerable advantages and is a stack of knowledge yet excessive use by adolescents can be harmful to them as well as their families. Thus, continuous governance is mandatory.