Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding competitiveness and cooperation among individuals. Both have their own set of benefits but I think co-operation has long-term benefits on adult life. A sense of competition among students has a positive impact. A healthy amount of rivalry is needed for motivation, which leads to better results. A good amount of competition instils a sense to outdo other students and brings about better grades. An initiative such as different ranking and position systems in education systems is a form of positive competition. Furthermore, better grades contribute to increased confidence and hard work, both of which are assets for adult life. This sense of rivalry can be introduced in children for better performance. For example, a reward in the form of a toy or candy could bring better results. Cooperation has a number of long-term benefits on the life of the public. This skill is required in every aspect of life especially, in jobs. At workplaces, an individual is required to work together with other people. For instance, in offices a person has to listen to their supervisor or they have to give instructions to their juniors on a project. These are all examples of co-operation. A team player is required to run the business smoothly and it also has an impact on other aspects of life such as family and friends. In conclusion, I would like to say that competitiveness and co-operation both play an important role in life, but co-operating with others is a basic requirement to co-exist.