Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Parents and their children have an inseparable bond. At every stage of a child's age, parents play a different role. When the child grows older, the bond between them changes. Parents become mentors, teachers and friends of their kids. In this essay, I shall discuss these different roles and their reasons in the following paragraphs. At the outset, when children grow they want to become independent and want to take the important decision of their life on its own. So here parents should become their teachers to guide them without knowing them. In this way, the youngster and parents both would be happy. For instance, when I grew older I want to opt for a medical stream but my parents guided me indirectly and told me to do some research about its long-term benefits before taking any decisions, so here they helped me without forcing me. Hence, the parents should not force their child, and help them in making their decision. Moreover, at a certain age, mother and father should become friends with their kids. Once they become good friends children will share their all secrets with their nurturers, so in this way, they feel safe and relaxed about their kid's activities. For example, adolescence is an age when an adult needs someone with whom he or she can share their feelings. In fact, adults would not feel alone in their home and they also feel supported all the time. Thus, parents should not always be strict with their adult children. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that parents should not behave as strict parents with their adult child and instead have to become their friends to provide them support and also, they should not force them on any decision.