It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g., Dinosaurs, dodos, etc.) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

It is well documented, that throughout the history of not only mankind but the whole planet Earth, many species were gone forever: from dinosaurs millions of years ago to dodos just a couple of centuries earlier. Some say, that extinction is impossible to avoid and globally there is nothing humans can do about it. While it may be true to some degree, there are still a plethora of reasons why people should consider preventing it from happening. To begin with, it is crucial to differentiate the reasons for extinction, as juxtaposing dinosaurs and dodos is completely wrong: the former were inevitably killed as a result of a meteor collision with the Earth, and the latter were exterminated as a result of humans activities, mainly poaching. Consequently, human behaviour can be controlled and the negative consequences they inflict can be negated. However, why should we care about endangered animals at all? Firstly, it is extremely important to sustain animal diversity not only for the sake of morality but also to preserve a healthy ecosystem of our planet. Deteriorating biodiversity has a detrimental effect on our surroundings, as each animal species represents a small gear in a big system, and when destroyed, it causes a chain reaction, affecting other elements. Furthermore, if humanity continues to act recklessly towards other species it can create an endless cycle of extinction, eventually leading to self-destruction. In conclusion, although I firmly believe, that in some cases animals die out of natural causes, humans can still control their actions and minimize the impact they have on the environment. The conservation of endangered animals is a small part that can greatly affect our world in various ways.