More and more people prefer to read e–books rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

There are numerous individuals who are big fans of and choose to have digital books instead of conventional ones. This essay will elucidate several significant factors behind this phenomenon and shows some negative effects on the physical library. To begin with, the electronic book provides better accessibility and convenience for reading activities regardless of time and place. Nowadays, in the globalization era, the Internet has been improved by the advancement of technology, IT experts, and scientists, so most societies could click any titles of articles on a search engine to review newspapers, magazines, or journals. Since the vast majority of citizens possess their own gadgets and other devices for study or work purposes, therefore, they most likely scan and skim materials on the screen on a daily basis rather than go to the offline building. Accordingly, these changes would drastically hamper the revenue and existence of libraries. Higher reading preferences for e-books more than papers have declined considerable readers visit the library because of time and energy efficiency. If this new trend keeps occurring and prolonging, the book collection will be dusted and wasted only. Moreover, it can be predicted that the traditional book room and collection would be bankrupt and closed in the near future. In conclusion, I assume that many people are more comfortable and favourable with online books because it is a simple and easy platform for enjoying their reading skills at any time and place. However, it seems that this transformation could lead to the extinction of libraries.