In many countries, the traditional customs are being lost. What you think why this happens? What schools and parents need to do to keep the traditional customs alive?

In recent times, the traditional customs are decreasing in popularity among the newer generations and this is due to multiple factors. This essay will discuss in the following paragraphs the reasons why that phenomenon happens, and what needs to be done in order to keep the traditions alive. Firstly, the old customs are slowly fading away among the youth, due to the lack of knowledge about the history and the beauty behind these rituals. Moreover, most young adults are curious to know about the new features spreading globally and forget about their own roots, and that is the main reason why traditional rituals are being lost. An example to illustrate that would be the current generation in my home country, Morocco, who is not giving as much importance to the old culture as the elderly used to do, and prefer instead to apply foreign cultural aspects instead of their own. To keep the traditional rituals alive, schools and parents need to actively fight against this phenomenon. On one hand, families should encourage their children to know more about the history behind the customs, by narrating stories and supporting their knowledge with pictures and videos. On the other hand, schools should organize parties and special events dedicated to the culture of the country. To illustrate that, my primary school used to plan traditional parties once a year where we could wear Moroccan clothing and sing national songs, and by doing so, we were always motivated to know more about our roots as well. To summarize, it is crucial for the young generations to learn about their history and keep their own traditions living throughout the years, as it will help preserve the identity of each country.