In the past, knowledge was stored in books. Today, people stored knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages??

Nowadays, due to the advancement of technology, people store their information and knowledge on the Internet, while in the past traditional methods were used.In this essay both sides of the argument will be discussed and the support will be explained. On the one hand, the main merit of storing information on the Internet is availability. In fact, the internet not only provides easy access to a vast amount of information from anywhere in the world but also allows people to find the answer to their questions swiftly. According to the latest estimates more and more people, especially young people would rather search their questions on the net and avoid seeking advice from other people. Furthermore, books can be expensive to purchase, especially academic and specialized text, while online resources are more cost-effective than physical books, making knowledge more accessible to a wider audience. However, it is important to recognize that there are disadvantages associated with collecting information on the internet, the most significant of which is privacy concerns.If someone shares their personal information on the Internet regardless of the potential risks, they may be exposed to hacking or misuse. Another demerit of keeping knowledge on the internet is a lot of dependence on the Internet. Relying solely on the internet leads to dependency on technology and a decrease in critical thinking skills. In conclusion, although by saving knowledge on the internet, people easily access to wide range of resources, I am of the opinion that the drawback of this circumstance has surpassed its positive effect with regard to the lack of security and dependency.